Electronic structure of amorphous InGaO3(ZnO)0.5 thin films

Deok Yong Cho, Jaewon Song, Cheol Seong Hwang, Woo Seok Choi, T. W. Noh, J. Y. Kim, H. G. Lee, B. G. Park, S. Y. Cho, S. J. Oh, Jong Han Jeong, Jae Kyeong Jeong, Yeon Gon Mo

Research output: Contribution to journalArticlepeer-review

31 Scopus citations


The electronic structure of amorphous semiconductor InGaO3(ZnO)0.5 thin films, which were deposited by radio-frequency magnetron sputtering process, was investigated using X-ray photoelectron spectroscopy and O K-edge X-ray absorption spectroscopy. The overall features of the valence and conduction bands were analyzed by comparing with the spectra of Ga2O3, In2O3, and ZnO films. The valence and conduction band edges are mainly composed of O 2p and In 5sp states, respectively. The bandgap of the films determined by spectroscopic ellipsometry was approximately 3.2 eV. Further, it is found that the introduction of oxygen gas during the sputter-deposition does not induce significant variations in the chemical states and band structure.

Original languageEnglish
Pages (from-to)1079-1081
Number of pages3
JournalThin Solid Films
Issue number4
StatePublished - 15 Dec 2009

Bibliographical note

Funding Information:
This study was supported by the SSDIP program of SNU, and the experiments at the PLS were supported in part by MEST and POSTECH.


  • InGaZnO
  • Transparent conducting oxide
  • X-ray absorption spectroscopy
  • X-ray photoelectron spectroscopy


Dive into the research topics of 'Electronic structure of amorphous InGaO3(ZnO)0.5 thin films'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this